A number of deserving students will receive an unexpected financial boost if they are chosen as a recipient of the Walter Harrison Scholarship, a program sponsored by Georgia’s electric membership corporations (EMCs). The scholarship can be applied to academic expenses at any accredited two- or four-year university, college or vocational-technical institute in Georgia.

The Walter Harrison Scholarship awards $1,000 scholarships to students who demonstrate exceptional academic performance. Grade point average, SAT scores, academic standing, scholastic honors and financial need are considered. A scholarship committee, comprised of directors and managers of Georgia’s EMCs, to awards scholarships to remarkable students who struggle with the high costs associated with attending college.

The scholarship is available to any college level student, regardless of age. Students applying for the scholarship must be accepted or enrolled in an accredited undergraduate degree program. See application below for further requirements.

Created in 1985 by the board of directors of Georgia EMC, the trade association representing the 41 electric cooperatives of Georgia, the scholarship pays tribute to the late Walter Harrison, a pioneer in the rural electricity movement and a leader at local, state and national levels in the electric cooperative program.

Click the PDF link below to download the 2023 application. If you are unable to download the file, call Trisha McBee at 770.370.2273 and an application will be mailed to you. Applicants must also submit a two-page autobiographical sketch with references to future plans and goals, school transcripts, letters of recommendation and proof of enrollment or an acceptance letter. Applications must be postmarked by Jan. 13, 2023

Winners will be announced on or before April 1. Fifteen $1,000 scholarships are scheduled to be awarded in 2023.

2023 Walter Harrison Scholarship Application(PDF)

The 2022 Walter Harrison Scholarship Winners are:

John Scott Griner - Walton EMC

Samuel Esowhode - Jackson EMC

Christian Nipper - Snapping Shoals EMC

Stephanie Barajas - Flint Energies

Grace Catherine Hood - Excelsior EMC

Jadie Burrell - Sumter EMC

Mary Pierce - Walton EMC

Emily Lariscy - Planters EMC

James Major Stanford - Tri-County EMC

Kathleen (Kate) Good - Okefenoke REMC

Makenzie Clark - Jackson EMC

Nick Jonassen - Coweta-Fayette EMC

Joel Mann - Irwin EMC

Madeline McLean - Okefenoke REMC